

FPD BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S VACANCY MEETING – MINUTES

Wednesday, April 9, 2025 – 6:30 pm. DU-COMM, 420 N. County Farm Road, Wheaton, IL

At 6:33 p.m. President Kosiara called the meeting to order.

1. Roll Call

President Jim McCarthy–virtual President Nick Kosiara President Longry Wang – virtual President Kate Perkins – virtual President Frank Vosicky – virtual Trustee Jim Williams – virtual Fire Chief Rick Sanborn Jr. – virtual Bartlett FPD Glenside FPD Lisle-Woodridge FPD Warrenville FPD York Center FPD York Center FPD York Center FPD

Absent: President Tim Deutschle – Bloomingdale FPD, President William Natick – Carol Stream FPD; President James Palatine – Darien-Woodridge FPD; President Don Ventura – Oakbrook Terrace FPD; President Charles Bratcher – West Chicago FPD; President Mark Klage – Winfield FPD

Staff: Director Robb, Exec Secretary Regalado

2. Overview of Process

Director Robb reviewed the Bylaws.

- Four Fire Protection Districts are selected to represent all the participating Fire Protection Districts on the DU-COMM Board of Directors Committee and one seat on the Executive Committee.
- Each Director shall be the President of the Board of trustees, the President or their designated alternate, who shall be a Fire Protection District Trustee or Chief Administration Officer from the same district.
- The four Directors shall be selected through a nomination and balloting process at a special meeting of all participating Fire Protection Districts held at DU-COMM in odd years prior to the April Board of Directors meeting so that the terms of office are conterminous to the regular board election occurring in July.
- In March or April, the four Fire Protection District Directors, Board of Trustees or Presidents shall be selected to represent the FPDS for two years through a nomination balloting process at this meeting prior to the April Board of Directors meeting.
- Prior to the July Board of Directors meeting, DU-COMM will provide notice of the final election slate to all members and provide an opportunity to address the proposed slate.
- At the July Board of Directors meeting, the slate will be presented to the Board of Directors for consideration.

3. DU-COMM Board of Directors FPD Representatives Recommendations

• Nominations were opened for FPD representatives.

President Wang made a motion to open nominations, and President Kosiara seconded. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

- The following individuals were nominated:
 - Kate Perkins, President of Warrenville Fire Protection District
 - James McCarthy, President of Bartlett Fire Protection District
 - Longry Wang, President of Lisle-Woodridge Fire Protection District
 - Jim Williams, Trustee of York Center Fire Protection District
- There were no other nominations.

DU-COMM

President McCarthy made a motion to appoint the nominated slate of candidates as the Fire Protection District representatives to the DU-COMM Board of Directors, and President Wang seconded. The motion was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

• Discussion to recommend President Kosiara to serve on the DU-COMM Executive Committee.

5. Adjournment

At 6:45 p.m. President McCarthy made a motion to adjourn, and Chief Sanborn Jr. seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote. Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, *Kimberly Regalado* Kimberly Regalado